I got an email today from Surf Restaurant letting me know that Surf Sushi Bar is now open in Portsmouth, NH. Surf in Portsmouth, Surf and MT’s Local in Nashua, and Buckley’s Steaks are restaurants owned by Michael Buckley, who I consider to be the best chef in New Hampshire, and now, the new Surf Sushi Bar is a few doors down from Surf Portsmouth. I wanted to get out of the house today and I had never been to Portsmouth, so when I got the email at 12:42 this afternoon I said – fuck it, I wanna go. Leslie loves these restaurants also, and I have to give her the credit for turning me on to them, so we headed up in the evening. Portsmouth is right next to Kittery, Maine, so I figured why not just take a short detour and boom! we’ve been to three states today. Leslie said they didn’t count because I was starting tomorrow. I thought that was a narrow way of looking at it – the wheels are in motion.

After dropping the car off with the valet, who I think was an Aussie, we popped into Surf Sushi Bar. The decor is hip and the staff is gentle. As the hostess led us to a table we caught a view out the window and we were stunned. The view is breathtaking from inside and even better from outside where we sat. We had the sushi sampler, Alaskan king crab roll, and a roll that was topped with tempura oysters, and all of it was excellent.

After dinner Leslie wanted to walk around the downtown area, so after I semi-resisted the idea due to being full and lazy I acquiesced because it was a good idea. There’s a lot of bars, restaurants, and shops. We stopped at I Like That, a novelty store. They made custom tee shirts to-go, so I had to buy two. I fancied one that said “Cool Story Babe.”, but decided against it. I’ve completed the eastern most leg of the eastern route, so tomorrow I go west.

View from Surf Sushi Bar Balcony

Image

My new road gear

Image

Image

P.S. If I spend this much money every night on the road – I’ll see you this weekend, after I bang a uey in Cleveland.

