I’ll be spending around eleven hours in the car everyday, so I had to think about what I would be listening to. Since I have about 12,000 songs in my iTunes I was a bit skeptical that just browsing through and picking songs would be both a hassle and boring, so I decided that I shall listen to music from the state I’m currently passing through. This gives the listening a purpose, and hopefully it will keep the music from becoming dull.

As a result of my searches, it turns out that I’m going to have to branch out quite a bit from my usual listening because I didn’t find as much as I was hoping from each state, but I think I will also enjoy stepping away because you have to every now and then just so you don’t get dull and boring yourself. The criteria for picking bands/artists was:

1) they were born in the state (Dave Grohl, Ohio)
2) they grew up in the state or spent significant time of their formative years there(Tupac Baltimore, Maryland)
3) the band formed in the state (Talking Heads, who formed at Rhode Island School of Design)

Here’s what I’ll be listening to in each state in the order of the route:

1. Massachusetts – Passion Pit, The Cars, Boston
2. Vermont – Phish
3. New York – Jay Z, The Strokes, Lady Gaga, Steely Dan, 50 Cent
4. Pennsylvania – Hall and Oates, Breaking Benjamin
5. Ohio – The Black Keys, Foo Fighters, A Perfect Circle
6. Indiana – Guns N’ Roses, John Mellencamp, Michael Jackson
7. Michigan – Eminem, Stevie Wonder, Madonna
8. Illinois – Miles Davis, Smashing Pumpkins, Pearl Jam, Rage Against the Machine, Wilco
9. Wisconsin – Violent Femmes, BoDeans
10. Minnesota – Bob Dylan, The Replacements, Prince
11. Iowa – Radio Moscow
12. Missouri – Charlie Parker
13. Kentucky – Kentucky Headhunters (kind of excited for these hillbillies not gonna lie)
14. Tennessee – Aretha Franklin
15. Arkansas – Johnny Cash, Joe Nichols, Al Green
16. Mississippi – Elvis, Sam Cooke
17. Louisiana – The Meters
18. Alabama – Martha and the Vandellas, The Temptations, Jimmy Buffett, Wold Sweet Orange
19. Florida – Tom Petty, Lynyrd Skynyrd
20. Georgia – REM, Outkast, Zac Brown Band, Allman Brothers
21. South Carolina – Hootie and the Blowfish, Band of Horses James Brown
22. North Carolina – Funkadelic, Ben Folds Five
23. Virginia – Dave Matthews Band, Timbaland, Patsy Cline
24. West Virginia – Brad Paisley
25. Maryland – OAR, Tupac, Mama Cass Elliot
26. Deleware – The Spinto Band
27. New Jersey – Bruce Springsteen, Gaslight Anthem, Whitney Houston, Bon Jovi, Frank Sinatra (Jersey is a real musical powerhouse)
28. Connecticut – Weezer
29. Rhode Island – Talking Heads
30. New Hampshire – Aerosmith
31. Maine – Ray Lamontagne

There wasn’t much to choose from in some states and then there was a lot in others, like Jersey and Indiana. Some interesting things I realized from researching this:

-I had never heard of Radio Moscow, The Spinto Band, and the Kentucky Headhunters
-I’ve been to live performances by Aerosmith, Weezer, Springsteen, OAR, Dave Matthews, Ben Folds, Hootie, Tom Petty, Pearl Jam, Foo Fighters, Breaking Benjamin, Jay Z, Phish, and I saw Daryl Hall perform in the Lowell High Auditorium!
-I don’t listen to it, so I have way too much Phish music in my iTunes
-People from Michigan like to change their names for the stage:
Stevie Wonder – Stevland Hardaway Judkins
Madonna – Madonna Louise Ciccone
Eminem – Marshall Bruce Mathers III (Axl Rose, though not from Michigan, also has the middle name Bruce)
-Tupac performed Shakespearean plays and once played the role of the Mouse King in the Nutcracker. He’ll always be a motherfuckin’ gangsta to me, though.

